Sunday, November 29, 2009

a korean thanksgiving...and other adventures

ok, i left off with turk and i spending last saturday in a toilet museum, among other things. the next day, we decided to go into itaewon for some darts and lunch. we got there around 2. needless to say, i didn't get home until 2 the next morning...somehow with both grant and eun pyo both in tail. i really have to question how i end up getting into these types of situations.

anyway, another week rolled around at school. i got a lot accomplished. i planned out bothf my science classes for the rest of the semester. all i have to do is get a couple more tests created for them and write their finals! hooray! that just leaves me with american government to prep for. they are studying the constitution and the bill of rights, which means it is a piece of cake for me.

no week at school is complete without someone in administration doing something which makes me want to quit. the newest assenine thing is moving the time the students have chapel. they originally had it every monday after the last class. but, for some reason which is devoid of all logic, they have decided to move the time. they are cancelling every last class on mondays and hving chapel at that time. so, these kids are missing out on 1/5 of their class time. not only that, but they are refusing to give these students the 2 days they need to review for finals. considering the school's decision to mandate the midterm and final exam scores be 70% of a student's grade (they did this without the knowledge or consent of the teachers after we had already informed students about our personal grading scales) i believe taking this time away from students is a terrible idea. but then again, what else is new? i ended up getting into a pretty heated arguement about this with one of my supervisors because i feel like the students' education is the most important thing and the school is ignoring that fact. long story short, i am seriously looking into new jobs. i love my students, but this school is turning me into a very negative person, and that is something i am not ok with. since the beginning, it has done nothing but break my contract and lie to me and piss me off. i am throwing in the towel.

but, on to a more positive thing. THANKSGIVING! i was so sad to have to miss thanksgiving at home this year. the idea had me pretty down, although i tried not to show it too much. thanksgiving is just that one day of the year when nothing can go wrong for me. i love being able to spend the time cooking and being with me friends and family. this year i had to work, but sunny bought us a turkey and i helped him cook it after i got off of work. we were unable to obtain certain traditional side dishes like green bean casserole and stuffing, but we were able to put together a pretty yummy feast which was complete with pumpkin pie! mmmm!

i was pretty beat from being up late all week long doing things for school and preparing for thanksgiving stuff, so friday we stayed in ilsan. we went to dinner in la festa and walked around a bit before heading back to baekseok to sunny's for a cup of tea (in my case) and some darts and left-over pie (joygasm!). it was a pretty early night for me.

i got up early saturday to call home and then met up with turk and jess and ari at 10 for a day of shopping in dongdaemun. i love dongdaemun because i never pay what people ask for. for example, i found a cute bracelet for 15 dollars. i said it was too expensive and offered 8. she said no deal. she would discount for 10. i said no thanks. i could buy it somewhere else. she gave in and i paid 8. i win. haggling for me is like an extreme sport in which i refuse to lose.

after a day of shopping, we went to sinchon to beer o' clock for kevin's last hoorah before he leaves korea. the boys completed two of the ten shot challenges which i refuse to take part in, as always. there is a thing in this life called pure stupidity. i try to avoid that. i made it home around midnight and i attempted to go to sleep, but my night wasn't complete until i had been woken up at least 10 times by drunken phone calls from grant. some days, i hate my friends...lol

anyway, i have been a little under the weather and i somehow managed to sleep until 4 pm on sunday, when i was woken up by a phone call from eun pyo. i decided to get out of bed and do some things. it is now almost 6 pm and the only thing i have managed to accomplish is making an egg sandwhich and writing this blog. being unproductive for the win!

i will leave off with one last story which many of my buddies back home will find amusing.
so, this week, one of my students in ESL class asked me if i knew the movie, american pie. (i could already tell where this was going) i anwered that i did. she asked me if i knew the character, michelle. (i sighed to myself) i answered that i did. she yelled out, 'teacher, you are michelle!' and then she told me that i looked like her, but prettier (because all of my students believe that is they compliment me endlessly, i might give them a better grade or something i guess). moral of the story: no matter where i go, i will never escape the 'band camp girl' comparison. lol.

No comments:

Post a Comment